A Love Letter for Summer

There’s a crisp note in the air, and the leaves on the walnut trees are turning yellow and drifting away in the wind. It’s time to go.

Athens is my hometown, the very first place I have ever loved. Like with any other lover, it hurts to realize the paths of our lives are headed in opposite directions.

But I will have other great loves. The first will be Belo Horizonte, Brazil, where I am to live for three months, before making Malaysia my home for another ten months. A year of sunny skies, beaches, and warm weather.

Glorious climates aside, summer isn’t just a temperature – it’s a state of mind. Without school on our minds, we spend our summers trying to suck every last drop of joy from our lives. I’m no longer a student, but I want to keep that feeling. And so I’m off in search of the eternal summer state of mind. To Brazil, to Malaysia, and beyond. After all, there’s nowhere to go but everywhere.

All my love,

Katie

