The Journey

Life is about the journey, not the destination. Unless of course that journey is through an airport. Long journeys by plane are nothing more than a waiting game – a painful and exhausting holding period between leaving from one adventure and arriving at the next. My trip home has been an ephemeral bliss, and my future is filled with the excitement of possibility.

My near future, however, is thirty six hours in boring blue chairs as I make my way from Columbus to Chicago, Chicago to Singapore, and Singapore to Malaysia. For the first few hours, I will putter around on my technology, before moving to one of the five books I drug along in my enormous carry-on. As boredom sets in, I will move to progressively more desperate acts of entertainment. First Suduko, then staring out the window, and finally sleeping pills. Here’s to hoping that the destination is worth the journey!

