Graffiti of Indonesia

Not the creepiest things I've ever seen in an Indonesian toilet, but definitely the most beautiful.

Not the creepiest things I’ve ever seen in an Indonesian toilet, but definitely the most beautiful.

What is it with  me and the graffiti? I’ll tell you what it is – street art is the pulsing heart of a nation, and the snippets I make while traveling tell me something about the world we live in.

What do I see when I look at these pictures? I see figures from temple carvings and wayang kulit, ancient art that is still being celebrated in the modern world. I see political messages painted in red and white: the colors of the Indonesian flag. I see explosive color, pointed messages, and a passion for adding beauty to the everyday – art is added to telephone boxes, garage doors, and unsuspecting walls all over town.

Indonesian graffiti expresses a national demand for beauty in the every day, and the varied passions of a forward-facing people who take pride in their roots.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

