Tioman Island Addict

Beach Cat

After three trips in as many months, it’s safe to say I’m addicted to Tioman Island. Not that I’ve actually seen the whole island. To the contrary, I’ve been returning continually to the same beach, trying to perfect my formula for island bliss. The formula goes a little something like this: lie on the beach all day + happy hour + late night pizza = perfection. That’s not to say that there aren’t other things to do on the island (sea kayaking, diving, and jungle trekking, to name a few), only that upon stepping off the ferry, I am always struck by such bone idleness that I never do them.

View

But what’s so bad about bone idleness? By the time our plane kisses the tarmac, most of us have a mental “To Do” list so long that every so-called vacation we take morphs into a frenzied rush from “must see” to “must do”, and we return from vacation more tired than we started out. I too am guilty of this disease, wherein I can go from never having heard of some temple, beach or cave to being quite sure the world will end if I don’t see it in the space of, oh, half an hour. The determination that I must not miss out on anything often leads me to miss out on what I love most of all: crystal clear water, naps in the afternoon sun, and the chance to forget my worries and enjoy the moment.

Monkey Family

